Hello, all. I have some news to relate to ye.

First off: reviews. I know there has been some time since I’ve posted one, but they’re coming…soon. Here’s a rough line-up of what you should be seeing:

  • The Witch, written and directed by Robert Eggers (a review, a critical analysis, and an analysis of the criticism)
  • Alectryomancer and Other Weird Tales by Christopher Slatsky
  • Orford Parish Murder Houses by Tom Breen
  • The Sea of Ash by Scott Thomas
  • Tomorrow’s Cthulhu, edited by Scott Gable and C. Dombrowski
  • Cthulhu Lies Dreaming, edited by Salomé Jones
  • A triple Scott Nicolay review: afterNoctuidae, and The Croaker all wrapped up into one creepy bundle
  • The Nameless Dark by T.E. Grau
  • The Operating Theater by Christopher Ropes
  • Mother by Phillip Fracassi
  • A double review of Cody Goodfellow’s Rapture of the Deep and The Free School

April will be the Month of Bartlett – that is, the month of writer Matthew M. Bartlett, my favorite writer (living or dead). I will be reviewing all of Mr. Bartlett’s published work, but there’s more to it than just that. You’ll get guest posts from some of my favorite bloggers, an original story by Tom Breen, and an interview with Mr. Bartlett himself. There will be a non-Bartlett post – a review of Michael Griffin‘s much-anticipated debut collection The Lure of Devouring Light from Word Horde. The celebration will culminate on Walpurgisnacht, when the Conqueror Weird will be unveiling some very special news.

Speaking of Walpurgisnacht, that is the night my very first published work enters the world. My story “Woodland” is appearing in volume three of Oldstyle Tales‘ annual publication The Yellow Booke.

yellow-booke

Shortly afterward, my prose poem “My Mother’s Skin” (illustrated by THE Dave Felton) will appear alongside the likes of Mr. Bartlett, Jordan Krall, Pete Rawlik, Sam Gafford, Philip LoPresti, and many more too numerous to list in the inaugural issue of Ravenwood Quarterly, a magazine devoted to the Weird and Dark. In addition to my short tale, I will also be doing short write-ups of an album by Cadabra Records and Scott Nicolay’s Noctuidae, as well as an interview with Cadabra Records and Sam Cowan of Dim Shores. Furthermore, another story of mine – a poem called “Reaping” – will appear in the second issue of Ravenwood. This, of course, all depends on the success of their Kickstarter. You can back it here.

But enough with the shameless self-plugging! I hope this newsflash has sated your appetite for a while. I look forward to seeing you all in my next post.

